What is Reckless Driving in Michigan?
Michigan Law (MCL 257.626) is defined as operating a motor vehicle on a public roadway, including parking lots, with a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property. It is a very serious charge with penalties almost as harsh as Drunk Driving. Great care should be taken up front to defend this allegation. Reckless Driving is a criminal misdemeanor. If convicted, like a tattoo, it stays with you for life.
Good news is, being represented by a knowledgable, respected, agressive attorney with expertise, reckless driving is almost always a defeatable charge. The prosecution bears the burden of proof, beyond a reasonable doubt, that willful, wanton, disregard for life, or for property, existed.
Penalites for Reckless Driving
- Up to 93 days in jail
- Up to $500 in fines plus costs
- Six points on your driving record
- Driver's License is suspended for 90 days
- $1000 in driver responsibility fees
- Vehicle forfeiture or immobilization
- CDL (Commercial Driver's License) holders - automatic one year suspension.
The livlihood of most individuals depends on having a driver's license, so it is of the utmost importance to vehemently defend this allegation. You will find our rates beat most of the competition.
We know the law and have successfully defended hundreds reckless driving charges in the past.
Call us right now to discuss this matter at 844-485-8457 (844-4tkt-hlp).